Save the date: panel on kink & disability 8/23 in SF

I’m excited to announce that I will be on a panel discussing kink and disability in San Francisco in a couple weeks.

When: Saturday August 23rd, 2014. 6-830pm

Where: The Center for Sex and Culture 1349 Mission Street  San Francisco, CA [Between 9th and 10th Streets, on the corner of Grace Street]

Who: Nomy Lam, Carrie Wade, Leroy MooreLyric Seal, Seeley Quest, Dominika Bednarska, and Corey Alexander (me!)

What: Disabled Pride/Disabled Pain: Stories of Kink & Disability

The Center for Sex and Culture is proud to present a panel discussion of disabled folks discussing their experiences with kink. Join a panel of bad-ass disabled folks for story-sharing centered on disabled pride, sex, power, and (even sometimes) pain.

Suggested donation of $7-15 sliding scale. Pay what you can and no one turned away for lack of funds!

Access info: While the Center for Sex and Culture is not ADA accessible, there is wheelchair access through the front door and chairs have fit in the bathroom with relative ease. Our automatic door opener sometimes works, so sooner to the event we will update as to whether it is working or not! Please come scent-free (also no smoking outside the door and please be aware of chemicals you may come in contact with throughout the day). ***We are working on getting an ASL interpreter so as soon as interpretation is confirmed we will make a post on Facebook!***

I’m really looking forward to being part of this event; these kinds of conversations are rare and precious to me.

In related news, one of my core writing projects right now is a series of queer kink erotica stories that center fat disabled trans and genderqueer folks. I talk about this project on this site, and share excerpts from some of the stories I’ve been working on. I have also been doing a bunch of writing about writing erotica, which is collected on my website here. My series of posts on writing for trans readers may be of particular interest. I have also been working on translating my classes on stone sexuality into a blog series. My latest post in this series describes the pleasures of stone sexuality. I am also working on my first novel, which I’m pretty excited about.

I hope I will see you at the panel in a couple of weeks!

Leave a Reply

