Update on the hit and run

I was run over by a car a couple nights ago. Ambulance took me to the ER, where they did a bunch of scans and xrays, cleaned up the laceration on my head, and sent me home. My leg couldn’t support my weight, so they gave me a walker. I got a call the next morning saying that they had discovered a fracture in my kneecap when reviewing my scans, and could I come back to the ER. This time they put me in a brace to protect the knee, and told me not to put weight on it, or bend it at all and gave me crutches.

I spoke to the orthopedic doc this morning. I need surgery. They will put a plate in my knee. It is an inpatient surgery with several nights stay in the hospital. It will likely happen early next week in hopes that the swelling will be down by then. Surgery recovery is 8 weeks.

That’s what I know right now. I’m still reeling from the news and the experience.

2 thoughts on “Update on the hit and run

  1. What an awful way to start the New Year. I’m sorry this has happened to you. Some people are just a**holes. I hope you aren’t in to much pain for to long. I wish you a speedy recover and I hope the person who hit receive the instant Karma they so deserve.

    Healing and Light
    M

    Like

  2. i was almost killed by a drunk driver in east oakland, jan. 20 2010. surgeries entailed plate in fractured wrist, and rod in leg w/incisions at left knee and ankle. head injury impacts too…
    i was taken to highland, then fairmount hospitals. hit and run, and dui, have been categories of car injury that qualify for http://www.vcgcb.ca.gov/victims/eligibility.aspx –it takes a while like all (esp. underfunded) state bureaucracies, but if someone can help you look into whether you qualify, then apply to get compensation through the program, it can help–they covered therapy bills for me, a calculation of wages lost while unable to work, etc….
    also, a social worker at the hospital helped me apply for state disability, a temporary but more accessible than ssi allotment of funds. if you have questions on any of this or just want to talk, let me know. hang in there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

