End of Year Book Survey: 2016

2016-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-768x738

I thought I would try this survey, seemed like fun. (Courtesy of Jamie of Perpetual Page Turner) Will update if needed.

Note: The survey is for books I read throughout the year, no matter when they were published, and is not limited to just books that came out in 2016.

Book Stats 2016

Number Of Books You Read: 168
Number of Re-Reads: 51
Genre You Read The Most From: Romance

best-ya-books-2014-900x244

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

Geometries of Belonging by Rose Lemberg, hands down.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Pain Slut by JA Rock. BDSM romance that actually celebrates sadism and masochism is so rare, and this got some great reviews. But I was disappointed. The author (and the characters) did not actually seem to get sadism and masochism and mostly had a lot of shame and internalized prejudice about it.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

I was surprised in my reread of The Theory of Attraction by Del Dryden. I had been so happy before to have an autistic dominant character that I didn’t really think about the representation of that character. When rereading before potentially recommending to another autistic friend, I realized that I had substantial issues with the book and the way it presented Ivan, who is never actually named as autistic, but is clearly marked as autistic (and the author has confirmed his autism). I realized that in my hunger to find characters who were like me (autistic dominants), I had let a lot of stuff go. Camilla continually regards Ivan with pity around his autism and on occasion sees him as quite helpless. The entire book is premised on her assisting him to pass well enough as neurotypical at a work party, in order to keep his job. The main conflict in the book is centered around his autism. Basically the entire book treats his autism like a problem that she wants to rescue him from. When I reread the book, I was sad that I had missed all of that in the first read.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Probably Let it Shine by Alyssa Cole, The Duchess War by Courtney Milan, or Serving Pleasure by Alisha Rai. I adore those books and talk about them allll the time.

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Best series: Beyond series by Kit Rocha.

Best sequel: Stay My Fantasy by Alisha Rai.

Best series I finished in 2016: tie between the Rock Kiss series by Nalini Singh and the Hurley Boys series by Lauren Dane.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Tied between KJ Charles and Kit Rocha. Fell so hard for both of these authors this year.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

The Spitboy Rule by Michelle Cruz Gonzalez is a memoir and I rarely read those. I really enjoyed the stories and the spare prose.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Run by Kody Keplinger grabbed me right away and held me all the way through. So did Heartbeat Braves by Pamela Sanderson. Both of these books have very strong characterization and high stakes, I think it’s that combo that makes a book feel unputdownable to me.

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

A Seditious Affair by KJ Charles. I fell so hard for these characters, this story. I think I will probably reread a few times.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

I can’t pick just one. My top three:hard-candy-coverascension-cover         corona-cover

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

  • Lex from Beyond series (esp Beyond Control) by Kit Rocha.
  • Silas from A Seditious Affair by KJ Charles.
  • Bo from Run by Kody Keplinger.
  • Rayanne from Heartbeat Braves by Pamela Sanderson.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Waiting for the Flood by Alexis Hall.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

  • Geometries of Belonging by Rose Lemberg cracked open my brain about writing disabled characters.
  • “3” by Hannah Moscowitz was this explosion of thought about what my life might be like if I had been able to read polyamorous YA as a teenager.
  • Heartbeat Braves by Pamela Sanderson really had me thinking about building toward a hard-earned HFN and how satisfying a read that can be.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?

Beyond Shame by Kit Rocha. So damn good. Why did I wait so long to read it when it was on my kindle all this time? (I actually know why, it’s because I am so damn wary of post apocalyptic stories because of the ableism, misogyny and intense amounts of sexual violence that usually come along with books in this genre.)

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

“We all are vessels of our brokenness, we carry it inside us like water, careful not to spill. And what is wholeness if not brokenness encompassed in acceptance, the warmth of it’s power a shield against those who would hurt us?”

Geometries of Belonging by Rose Lemberg

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

  • Shortest: Found Them by Francisco Luis White  (26 pages)
  • Longest: The Witness by Nora Roberts (534 pages)

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

In the Middle of Somewhere by Roan Parrish. There were a few plot twists in this that caught me by surprise.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Alana and the ship from Ascension by Jacqueline Koyanagi. Her romance with the ship is so damn swoony.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Bo and Agnes from Run by Kody Keplinger. I heart this friendship so much.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Waiting for the Flood by Alexis Hall

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Level Up by Cathy Yardley. And it was so damn good, I’m glad I listened.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

  • Lex from the Beyond series by Kit Rocha.
  • Cameron from One Life to Lose by Kris Ripper.

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

  • If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo (YA)
  • Blank Spaces by Cass Lennox (Romance)

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

The Book of How to Live by Rose Lemberg. It blew me away.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

  • “3” by Hannah Moscowitz.
  • So Sweet by Rebekah Weatherspoon.
  • The Real Life Build by Kris Ripper.
  • Heartbeat Braves by Pamela Sanderson.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

  • Let it Shine by Alyssa Cole.
  • The Book of How to Live by Rose Lemberg.
  • Heartbeat Braves by Pamela Sanderson.
  • Looking for a Complication by Tamsen Parker.
  • Coffee Boy by Austin Chant.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

In the best ways:

  • Coffee Boy by Austin Chant (So many feels based on recognizing so much of my own experience in the workplace as a non-passing trans employee.)
  • The Dark Collector by Vanessa North (So many feels about grief and mourning.)
  • A Solitary Blue by Cynthia Voight (Because it always does, every time I read it.)

In the worst ways:

  • Comfort Object by Annabel Joseph (So intensely and terribly non-consensual.)
  • A Lady Awakened by Cecilia Grant (So much terrible sex enjoyed by nobody involved.)

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

A Portrait of the Desert in Personages of Power by Rose Lemberg (forthcoming in 2017).

Incomplete Short Stories and Essays by Jamie Berrout

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

I was frequently angry on Amanda’s behalf while reading If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo, at the circumstances and at some of the people in her life (ugh her dad pissed me off a lot). I wanted better for her on so many levels.I was angry at the book itself while reading Worth the Wait by Joey Hill. For multiple reasons that I describe in my review.

book-blogging-900x244

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

The Gay YA.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

One Trans Response to Grandmother Nai-Leylit’s Cloth of Winds by Rose Lemberg

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Writing Sex Scenes With Less Cissexism, Pt 1: Betweeen Characters

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I have really been enjoying the #translit conversations on Twitter recently, especially the questions posed by @trans_lit.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Putting together a list of free poems and short stories by queer and trans authors, focused on nourishment and comfort in the aftermath of the election. It felt like a way to take action that would genuinely help people.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Reading new books was often difficult for me, as I had a hard year, with regards to my mental health. I definitely did a lot more rereading.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

The Queer and Trans Love Stories I Need

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Going at My Own Pace: The Impact of Rose Lemberg’s Geometries of Belonging

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

The amazing main branch of the Berkeley Public Library.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Surpassed my 100 book goal on Goodreads

.looking-ahead-books-2015-1024x278

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2017 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Chameleon Moon by RoAnna Sylver.

Also I will finish Juliet Takes A Breath by Gabby Rivera, When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore and Labyrinth Lost by Zoaida Cordova, all of which I had to return to the library before I was able to finish reading them.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

Brilliant Imperfection: Grappling with Cure by Eli Clare. Exile and Pride had such an intense impact on me. I have been anticipating Clare’s next disability book for a long time.

In romance, I am especially looking forward to Peter Darling by Austin Chant and also everything Alisha Rai might be releasing in 2017. I know Hate to Want You is coming out and I am hopeful also for Managing Pleasure and The Right Man for the Job, if I’m lucky.

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. I read the beginning and was sucked in immediately. Looking forward to this book so much.

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

Finding Your Feet by Cass Lennox. I really enjoyed Blank Spaces and I am looking forward to this story in particular. Book 2 in the Crooked Rock series by Pamela Sanderson. I loved book 1 (Heartbeat Braves).

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Keep better track of what I’m reading. Write more reviews. Finish my blog series on writing sex scenes with less cissexism.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

A Portrait of the Desert in Personages of Power by Rose Lemberg. So excited for this to come out so I can get everyone I know to read it. This book means so very much to me, as a sadist in particular. I need it to be out in the world.

I’m also juiced about The King of Bourbon Street by Thea de Salle because it has the best fat rep I’ve read in a romance, ever. Fat heroine who is described as fat and is not on a diet, with a hero who is attracted to her and her body without fetishizing her or tripping on her being fat. And she has so much hot kinky sex.

Leave a Reply

