A Selection of Poetry by LGBTQ Women, for International Women’s Day

So I thought I would gather some beloved poems by LGBTQ women writers, to honor International Women’s Day 2016. These poems are dear to me, and just a small taste of what these amazing poets have to offer. They kicked my ass, or made me cry, or held my heart gently, or met me exactly where I was in the right moment.

Who Said it Was Simple, by Audre Lorde

New York Girls, by Cheryl B

The Moon, accused of being inconstant, responds, by Marty McConnell

Wolves, by Lilith Latini

Do The Math, by Meliza Bañales

Dear Mr. Sunflower Butch, by Elaina Ellis

The Seam of Skin and Scales, by Elena Rose

La Divina, by Fran Varian

Madivenez, by Lenelle Moise

To Live in The Borderlands, by Gloria Anzaldua

For the White Person Who Wants to Know How To Be My Friend, by Pat Parker

All The Trans Girls Say, by Cat Fitzpatrick

I Walk In the History of My People, by Chrystos

Peeling Potatoes, by Crystal Azul

Diving Into The Wreck, by Adrienne Rich

When to Chill, by Barbara Ruth

The Ritz, by Minnie Bruce Pratt

Submissive, by Lauren Zuniga

Femme to Femme by Jewelle Gomez

INTIFADA INCANTATION: POEM #8 FOR b.b.L., by June Jordan

Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha performs in Sins Invalid 2009 at Brava Theater in San Francisco. Part 1 of 3.

Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha performs in Sins Invalid 2009 at Brava Theater in San Francisco. Part 2 of 3.

Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha performs in Sins Invalid 2009 at Brava Theater in San Francisco. Part 3 of 3.

Loving in the War Years, by Cherríe Moraga

A Song of Someplace Yet To Fall, by Ryka Aoki

Wild Geese, by Mary Oliver

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.